2018 Awards Luncheon celebrates 40 years of CLC

The 2018 Awards Luncheon of the Colorado Lawyers Committee, held on Tuesday, May 22, 2018 at the Hilton Denver City Center was a remarkable success. More than 480 attorneys and community members planned to attend.

This year’s keynote speaker, Jeffrey L. Fisher, Co-Director of the Supreme Court Clinic at Stanford Law School, delivered an inspiring address on “Civil Rights: Colorado in the U.S. Supreme Court”. Mr. Fisher has argued 35 cases in the Court, on issues ranging from criminal procedure and maritime law to civil and human rights. In addition to his teaching and practice concerning the Supreme Court, Fisher has published numerous articles on various criminal and constitutional issues, and he is currently writing a treatise on the Confrontation Clause. Before joining the Stanford faculty, Fisher co-chaired the appellate practice group of Davis Wright Tremaine. He clerked for U.S. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens and Judge Stephen Reinhardt of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.  To view video of Mr. Fisher’s message, click here.

The Colorado Lawyers Committee was pleased to feature a video highlighting the impact of the CLC’s legal advocacy in the community over the past 40 years. Click here to see the video.  CLC also recognized the important leadership role of the following men and women who have volunteered their time to serve as CLC Board Chair:

  • W. Randolph Barnhart

  • William A. Bianco

  • Thomas Bieging

  • Stephen S. Dunham

  • Nancy B. Elkind

  • Iris Eytan

  • L. Richard Freese, Jr.

  • Robert F. Hill

  • James W. Hubbell

  • Jennifer H. Hunt

  • Edwin S. Kahn

  • Gregory B. Kanan

  • Steven M. Kaufmann

  • Kenzo Kawanabe

  • Glen E. Keller, Jr.

  • Mary J. Kelly

  • Christopher Lane

  • Catherine A. Lemon

  • Timothy R. Macdonald

  • Gale T. Miller

  • Rodney R. Patula

  • Bruce W. Sattler (deceased)

  • James E. Scarboro

  • Peter H. Schwartz

  • Craig E. Stewart

  • William E. Walters, III

  • Julie M. Williamson

Another wonderful highlight of the luncheon was the presentation of awards to honor individuals and organizations who have contributed significantly to the Colorado Lawyers Committee in the past year.

The Board of Directors selected Husch Blackwell LLP as the recipient of the Law Firm of the Year AwardClick here for more information on Husch Blackwell’s work for the CLC.  Other law firms honored for their contribution to the Colorado Lawyers Committee were:

  • Hernandez & Associates, P.C.

  • Rollin Braswell Fisher LLC

  • Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP

The Individual of the Year Award was presented to Christine Snider (Ballard Spahr LLP). Click here for more information on Christine’s work for the CLC.  Other individuals honored at the luncheon were:

  • Bennett L. Cohen (Polsinelli PC)

  • Christopher J. Lane (Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP)

  • Pascal C. Schunk (Schunk Law Firm P.C.)

The Colorado Lawyers Committee also presented the Past Chair Award to Iris Eytan (Eytan Nielsen LLC), celebrating her leadership during the past two years as Chair of the Board of Directors.

Congratulations to all our amazing honorees and volunteers. Your work to improve the lives children and the underserved in our community is inspiring.

We look forward to seeing you at the 2019 Awards Luncheon!

Loren Faye