2019 Special Recognition Award Presented to Young Lawyers Division Board Members

In 2015, the Lawyers Committee created a Young Lawyers Division to “empower passionate young lawyers to make a difference for children and the underserved through education, advocacy, and systemic change.” General Membership in the CLC YLD is open (without charge) to young and new attorneys and law students. Over 200 young lawyers and law students are currently members of the CLC YLD. The CLC YLD is led by a Board comprised of 12 YLD lawyers from law firms that contribute to the Lawyers Committee. 

In its first three years, the YLD drafted a governing charter, produced and directed two videos shown at the Awards Luncheons, expanded and strengthened the Hate Crimes Education Program, took over running Denver Legal Night, actively supported the Nonprofit Legal Audit Clinics and the Nonpartisan Election Call Center, and held a number of YLD fundraising events, including Night at the Rockies and Casino Night, which helped raise over $22,000 for future CLC and YLD projects, including the YLD Grant Program and upcoming CLE Series. 

Beginning in 2019, YLD members can apply for grants to help defray costs in pro bono representation, fund materials or space for clinics or other direct services or provide scholarships for trainings that assist lawyers in providing pro bono services. Another new program for YLD members is the upcoming CLE Series where YLD members learn trial advocacy skills through a series of trainings lead by distinguished Denver trial attorneys. The Series will begin in August 2019 and continue throughout 2020. 

Colorado Lawyers Committee is indebted to the individuals who have served on our Young Lawyers Division Board since its creation. We thank you for your leadership, guidance and commitment to our mission. 

Past & Present Board Members

Adrienne D. Boyd (Arnold & Porter)
Lauren P. Carboni (Dentons)
Elizabeth Froehlke (Littler Mendelson P.C.)
Nathaniel J. Hake (formerly Arnold & Porter LLP; currently Hake Law LLC)
Tess Hand-Bender (Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP)
Abigail Moss Hinchcliff (Bartlit Beck LLP)
Martina Hinojosa (Butler Snow LLP)
Stephanie A. Kanan (Snell & Wilmer)
Christopher John Lane (Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP)
Beth Ann Lennon (Sherman & Howard L.L.C.)
Matthew M. Linton (Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.)
Ellie Lockwood (Snell & Wilmer)
Caitlin McHugh (Lewis Roca Rothgerber Christie LLP)
John M. McHugh (Reilly Pozner LLP)
Kelly Lynch Murphy (The Harris Law Firm P.C.)
Jill Tenley Oldak (Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP)
Joseph G. Phillips (formerly Arnold & Porter LLP; currently Office of the Colorado Attorney General)
Ryan B. Thurber (Polsinelli PC)
Mark D. Wilding (Ballard Spahr LLP)
Marie E. Williams (formerly Faegre Baker Daniels LLP; currently Marie Williams Law LLC)
Jennie Reid Wray (The Harris Law Firm P.C.)

Robin Gates