2017 Annual Awards Luncheon 

2017 Awards Luncheon Honors CLC Volunteers

The 2017 Awards Luncheon of the Colorado Lawyers Committee on Friday, May 5, 2017 at the Marriott Denver City Center was a remarkable success.

This year’s keynote speaker, Ken Armstrong, investigative reporter at The Marshall Projectinspired attendees with his story entitled “The Trials of Dick Cunningham: An Extraordinary Lawyer’s Life and Death”. Mr. Armstrong shared an incredible portrait of Dick Cunningham, a criminal defense attorney who helped free innocent men on Illinois’ Death Row and was instrumental in the state’s moratorium on executions. Mr. Armstrong writes on the topic of criminal justice and has won or shared in four Pulitzer Prizes. His first book, “Scoreboard, Baby,” written with Nick Perry, won the Edgar Allan Poe Award for non-fiction. He has been a Nieman Fellow at Harvard University and the McGraw Professor of Writing at Princeton University. Recently, Mr. Armstrong received the John Chancellor Award from Columbia University for lifetime achievement.

The Colorado Lawyers Committee was also pleased to feature the Young Lawyers Division and their accomplishments for the year. Another wonderful highlight of the luncheon was the presentation of awards to honor individuals and organizations who have contributed significantly to the Colorado Lawyers Committee in the past year.

David W. Stark (Faegre Baker Daniels LLP) received the Outstanding Sustained Contribution Award for his longstanding support and extensive involvement with the work of the Colorado Lawyers Committee. For more than 15 years, Dave has served as Chair (sometimes with a co-chair) of the Children’s Task Force in its efforts to improve conditions for children. In addition to his substantive work on Lawyers Committee projects, Dave has been involved in the leadership of the Lawyers Committee as a member of the Board of Directors and has also served on the Executive Committee for the past three years. We are incredibly grateful for Dave’s dedication and are thrilled to honor him with this award.

The Board of Directors selected Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP as the recipient of the Law Firm of the Year Award. Other law firms honored for their contribution to the Colorado Lawyers Committee were: Bartlit Beck Herman Palenchar & Scott LLP,Hogan Lovells US LLP, and Ireland Stapleton Pryor & Pascoe, PC. Congratulations to all these firms and thank you for your significant contributions to our community through the Colorado Lawyers Committee.

The Team of the Year Award was presented to the Jail Wait Litigation Team:

Caleb Durling (Rollin Braswell Fisher LLC)
Iris Eytan (Eytan Nielsen LLC)
Mark Ivandick (Disability Law Colorado)
Kelsey Lesco (Disability Law Colorado)

Ellie Lockwood (Snell & Wilmer)
Jason M. Lynch (Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP)
Jennifer Purrington (Disability Law Colorado)

Other teams honored were:

Denver Legal Night Team

Stephanie A. Kanan (Snell & Wilmer)

Ellie Lockwood (Snell & Wilmer)

Hate Crimes Presentation Task Force Team

Beth Ann Lennon (Sherman & Howard L.L.C.)

John M. McHugh (Reilly Pozner LLP)

Tarek F. M. Saad (Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP)

Christine Snider (Ballard Spahr LLP)

Phyllis V. Wan (Hogan Lovells US LLP)

Nonprofit Legal Audit Clinic Team

David L. Coats (Student, University of Denver Sturm College of Law)

Samuel E. Edwards (Holland & Hart LLP)

Martina Hinojosa (Butler Snow LLP)
Jill Tenley Oldak (Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP)

Carolyn S. Powell (Association of Corporate Counsel – Colorado Chapter)

Hannah Pressler (Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP)

Peter H. Schwartz 
(Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP)
Scott Thompson (Budget Analyst, Colorado General Assembly)
Melanie Tsuchida (Colorado Nonprofit Association)

The  Lawyers Committee was also proud to present two Special Recognition Awards:

  • For years of service in Denver Legal Night coordination and administration: Susan C. Cole and Timothy R. Macdonald (Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP)

  • For its community outreach program and partnership with CLC in expanding hate crimes and “know your rights” education programs: U.S. Attorney’s Office for the District of Colorado

Congratulations to all our amazing honorees and volunteers. Your work to improve the lives children and the underserved in our community is inspiring.

2017 Photos


Photos courtesy of Hartmannphoto, LLC

2017 Videos


See videos from all past annual luncheons.

2017 Sponsors

Thank you to our many sponsors and partners who support our Awards Luncheon and help us further our mission to increase opportunities for children, the poor and other disadvantaged communities through pro bono legal advocacy, negotiation and litigation.


Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP
Bartlit Beck Herman Palenchar & Scott LLP
Faegre Baker Daniels LLP
Hogan Lovells US LLP
Morrison & Foerster LLP
Sherman & Howard L.L.C.


Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP
Butler Snow LLP
Colorado & Denver Bar Associations/CLE in Colorado, Inc.
Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP
Eytan Nielsen LLC
Holland & Hart LLP
Husch Blackwell LLP
Ireland Stapleton Pryor & Pascoe, PC
Judicial Arbiter Group, Inc.
Lass Moses & Ramp, LLC
Lewis Roca Rothgerber LLP
Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.
Polsinelli PC
Reilly Pozner LLP
Rollin Braswell Fisher LLC
Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP
University of Denver Sturm College of Law
Xcel Energy Services, Inc


Association of Corporate Counsel – Colorado Chapter
Ballard Spahr LLP
CenturyLink Law Department
Elkind Alterman Harston PC
Holland & Knight LLP
Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Molson Coors Brewing Company
Otten Johnson Robinson
Neff + Ragonetti PC
Perkins Coie LLP
Snell & Wilmer
Tierney Lawrence LLC
Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP
Zonies Law LLC


Colorado LGBT Bar Association
Hill & Robbins, P.C.
University of Colorado Law School
University of Denver Sturm College of Law

Alyn-Weiss & Associates, Inc.
Aponte & Busam, Inc.
Asian Pacific American Bar Association
Center for Legal Inclusiveness
Colorado Hispanic Bar Association


  • Lewan Technology for printing the 2017 Awards Luncheon program and the 2017 Annual Report

  • Hartmannphoto, LLC for providing pro bono photography services for the Colorado Lawyers Committee

  • Landlocked Films LLC for preparing the special video presentations for the luncheon

  • Cuttlefish Arts for layout and design of the 2017 Awards Luncheon program and 2017 Annual Report