2016 Annual Awards Luncheon 

2016 Awards Luncheon Honors CLC Volunteers

The Colorado Lawyers Committee 2016 Awards Luncheon, held on Tuesday, May 23, 2016 at the Marriott Denver City Center, was a remarkable success.

This year’s keynote speaker, David Von Drehle, Editor-at-Large at Time, inspired and educated attendees with his remarks about the 2016 elections and the future of the United States Supreme Court.  Mr. Von Drehle has been an editor-at-large at TIME since 2007 where he has written many of the most important cover stories of the past eight years, from the Supreme Court decisions on health care and same-sex marriage to the death of Osama bin Laden and the rise of ISIS.

Another highlight of the luncheon was the presentation of awards to honor individuals and organizations who have contributed significantly to the Colorado Lawyers Committee in the past year.

Nancy B. Elkind (Elkind Alterman Harston PC) received the Outstanding Sustained Contribution Award for her extraordinary commitment to the work and mission of the Colorado Lawyers Committee.  She has served on the Board of Directors for more than twenty-five years and has been on the Executive Committee for ten years including serving as Chair of the Board of Directors for two years.  Her work in the area of immigration and her extensive volunteering at Denver Legal Night has been invaluable.  We are thrilled to honor Nancy for these contributions.

The Board of Directors selected Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP as the recipient of the Law Firm of the Year Award. Other law firms honored for their contribution to the Colorado Lawyers Committee were:

  • Arnold & Porter LLP

  • Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP

  • Dentons

The Individual of the Year Award was presented to: Aaron A. Boschee (Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP)

 Other individuals honored at the luncheon were:

  • Ilene Lin Bloom (Sherman & Howard L.L.C)

  • David W. Stark (Faegre Baker Daniels LLP)

  • Phyllis V. Wan (Hogan Lovells US LLP)

The Lawyers Committee was also proud to present the Past Chair Award to Timothy R. Macdonald (Arnold & Porter LLP).

Congratulations to all our amazing honorees and volunteers. Your work to improve the lives of children and the underserved in our community is inspiring.

2016 Photos


Photos courtesy of Hartmannphoto, LLC

2016 Videos


See videos from all past annual luncheons.

2016 Sponsors

Thank you to our many sponsors and partners who support our Awards Luncheon and help us further our mission to increase opportunities for children, the poor and other disadvantaged communities through pro bono legal advocacy, negotiation and litigation.


Arnold & Porter LLP
Faegre Baker Daniels LLP
Lass Moses & Ramp, LLC
Morrison & Foerster LLP
Reilly Pozner LLP
Sherman & Howard L.L.C


Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP
Bryan Cave LLP
Colorado & Denver Bar Associations/CLE in Colorado, Inc.
Davis Graham & Stubbs LLP
Gutterman Griffiths PC
Hogan Lovells US LLP
Holland & Hart LLP
Husch Blackwell LLP
Jones & Keller, P.C.
Lewis Roca Rothgerber LLP
McKenna Long & Aldridge LLP
Molson Coors Brewing Company
Snell & Wilmer
Squire Patton Boggs (US) LLP
The Harris Law Firm P.C.
Tierney Paul Lawrence LLP
University of Denver Sturm College of Law
Xcel Energy Services, Inc.


Bartlit Beck Herman Palenchar & Scott LLP
CenturyLink Law Department
Eytan Nielsen LLC
Hill & Robbins, P.C.
Holland & Knight LLP
Husch Blackwell LLP
Ireland Stapleton Pryor & Pascoe, PC
Judicial Arbiter Group, Inc.
Lindquist & Vennum LLP
Otten Johnson Robinson Neff + Ragonetti PC
The Harris Law Firm P.C.
Tierney Lawrence LLC
Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP
Zonies Law LLC


Colorado Women’s Bar Association
RubinBrown LLC
University of Colorado Law School
University of Denver Sturm College of Law

Alyn-Weiss & Associates, Inc.
Aponte & Busam, Inc.
Asian Pacific American Bar Association
Center for Legal Inclusiveness
Colorado LGBT Bar Association


  • Ricoh Legal Services for printing the 2016 Awards Luncheon program and the 2016 Annual Report

  • Hartmannphoto, LLC for providing pro bono photography service for the Colorado Lawyers Committee

  • Landlocked Films LLC for preparing special video presentations for the luncheon

  • Cuttlefish Arts for layout and design of the 2016 Awards Luncheon program and the 2016 Annual Report