Colorado Lawyers Committee Honors Attorneys And Firms At 2019 Awards Luncheon

On May 2, 475 lawyers and community leaders gathered to celebrate the accomplishments of Colorado Lawyers Committee volunteer attorneys and law firms, many of which were honored at the CLC annual Awards Luncheon. During 2018, more than 1,000 volunteers donated more than 7,800 hours and $3.03 million worth of time through the Colorado Lawyers Committee’s 29 active projects in the areas of Children’s Rights & Education, Civil & Criminal Law, Poverty & Public Benefits, Community Development, and Immigration.

Keynote speaker Colorado Attorney General Phil Weiser inspired the luncheon audience.  He described his office’s mission and guiding principles and stressed the importance of creative problem solving with new and different approaches and the necessity of protecting the rule of law in these chaotic times.  He urged the audience to work together to solve the serious problems that face us, including the opioid epidemic.

CLC announced that its Hate Crimes Education Program, which has been offered in Colorado schools for the last 25 years, will now be available to be presented in every school in the country.  Due to a generous grant from the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law in Washington, D.C., the CLC has modified its well-respected program.  The new national effort will be unveiled across the country later this year.

Another highlight of the luncheon was the announcement of this year’s award recipients: The Board of Directors selected Snell & Wilmer as the Colorado Lawyers Committee Law Firm of the Year. Daniel A. Sweetser of The Sweetser Law Firm, P.C. received the Outstanding Sustained Contribution Award for his longstanding support and extensive contributions to the work of the Colorado Lawyers Committee, and Melanie Tsuchida, Colorado Nonprofit Association, received the Special Recognition Award. Past and present board members of the CLC Young Lawyers Division were also recognized for their contributions during the last four years.

The Jail Wait Litigation Team was recognized as the CLC Team of the Year, for its 11 years of advocacy for people with mental illness and the recent landmark settlement that will result in a significant reduction in the criminalization of the mentally ill in Colorado. The Jail Wait Litigation Team includes:

·       Iris Eytan (Eytan Nielsen LLC)

·       Allison Butler (Disability Law Colorado)

·       Sean Connelly (Connelly Law LLC)

·       Caleb Durling (Fox Rothschild LLC)

·       Mark Ivandick (Disability Law Colorado)

·       Scott Llewellyn (Morrison Foerster LLP)

·       Ellie Lockwood (Snell & Wilmer)

·       Kathleen Mullen

·       Jenn Purrington (Disability Law Colorado)

·       Tim Scalo (Snell & Wilmer)

·       Byeongsook Seo (Snell & Wilmer)

Loren Faye