2020 awards Luncheon 

CLC is pleased to announce that our Annual Awards Luncheon will be held on May 12, 2020, at the Hyatt Regency at Denver Convention Center. This annual event is a celebration of the lawyers and community leaders who donate their time to support the mission and projects of the Colorado Lawyers Committee, supporting 29 task forces in the areas of in the areas of Children’s Rights & Education, Civil & Criminal Law, Poverty & Public Benefits, Community Development, and Immigration.

This year, we are honored to welcome Lee Gelernt, Deputy Director of the American Civil Liberties Union Immigrants Rights Project as our keynote speaker.

During the past 18 months, Mr. Gelernt has argued several groundbreaking challenges to Trump administration policies, and successfully argued the first case challenging the president’s travel ban on individuals from certain Muslim-majority nations, which resulted in a federal court in Brooklyn issuing a nationwide Saturday night injunction against the ban one day after the president enacted it and eight days after his inauguration. He is currently litigating a national class action involving the Trump administration’s unprecedented practice of separating immigrant families at the border. On June 26, 2018, a federal court in San Diego issued an injunction holding the practice unconstitutional and requiring the administration to reunite the approximately 2,600 separated families. 

Mr. Gelernt is also currently litigating a number of other nationally significant civil rights cases, and has argued dozens of other notable civil rights cases at all levels of the federal court system. To learn more about Mr. Gelernt’s impressive achievements, please visit the ACLU’s website.

Thank you for joining us, Mr. Gelernt!

Tickets and Sponsorship will be available for purchase soon. In the interim, please contact Olivia Weed (303-256-2782) with any inquiries.

In the coming months, CLC will be announcing the recipients of our annual awards:

  • Law Firm of the Year

  • Outstanding Sustained Contribution

  • Team of the Year

  • Special Recognition

We hope that you will join us!